Manulife CoverMe vs 21st Century vs Secure Travel: three-way comparison

Secure Travel (iA Financial Group, claims by MSH) was the lowest of the three at every age from 55 to 75 on 18 October 2026, by $314 to $1,712 a year. Manulife CoverMe and 21st Century are both underwritten by The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company; 21st Century was lower at 55 and CoverMe from 60 to 75. Secure Travel uses 90 days' stability to 69; the Manulife plans use 180 days at every age.

Rules and prices checked October 18, 2026. Written by a licensed advisor at SuperVisaDirect, FSRA licence [FSRA-LICENCE].

Secure Travel was the lowest of the three at every age from 55 to 75 on 18 October 2026, by $314 at 55 and $1,427 at 75 against the nearer Manulife-underwritten plan, at $100,000 with stable conditions and no deductible. Manulife CoverMe and 21st Century share an underwriter, The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company, but not a price list: 21st Century was lower at 55 and CoverMe from 60 to 75. Secure Travel also has the shortest stability period, 90 days to 69.

All three qualify under the IRCC rule. Full reviews: Manulife CoverMe, 21st Century and Secure Travel.

Who is the insurer behind each plan?

Two of the three certificates name Manulife. CoverMe is Manulife’s own retail brand; 21st Century is a managing general agent whose plan Manulife underwrites. Secure Travel is RIMI Insurance Solutions’ plan on iA Financial Group paper with MSH Assistance running claims. In every case the brand is not the insurer.

Item Manulife CoverMe 21st Century Secure Travel
Underwriter on certificate The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company iA Financial Group (Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services Inc.)
Plan designer Manulife 21st Century Travel Insurance Limited, Cobourg, ON RIMI Insurance Solutions Inc., Toronto
Assistance and claims Active Care Management; files to Global Excel Active Care Management MSH Assistance
Assistance line 1-877-878-0142 1-877-882-2957 MSH number on certificate; RIMI line 1-833-366-0878
Sold through Manulife direct Brokers Brokers

Sources: Manulife policy PDF, 21st Century brochure and PolicyAdvisor Secure Travel review. See underwriters explained.

What does each cost by age?

Secure Travel was lowest at every age by a wide margin. Among the Manulife-underwritten pair, the MGA plan was lower only at 55; from 60 the direct brand was lower by $212 to $502. At 65 Secure Travel cost 29 percent less than CoverMe and 34 percent less than 21st Century.

Annual premium, $100,000 coverage, $0 deductible, stable pre-existing conditions covered, rates seen 18 Oct 2026 — verify at quote time.

Age Manulife CoverMe Plan B ($/yr) 21st Century Enhanced ($/yr) Secure Travel Enhanced ($/yr) Lowest of the three Gap to next ($/yr)
55 $2,165 $1,891 $1,577 Secure Travel $314
60 $2,529 $2,741 $1,621 Secure Travel $908
65 $2,874 $3,095 $2,051 Secure Travel $823
70 $4,181 $4,683 $3,380 Secure Travel $801
75 $5,427 $5,712 $4,000 Secure Travel $1,427

Sources: BestQuote and PolicyAdvisor. Without pre-existing cover: CoverMe $1,970 / $2,614 / $4,932 at 55 / 65 / 75; 21st Century Basic $1,387 / $1,807 / $3,347; Secure Travel $1,026 / $1,621 / $2,920. All eight carriers are on the cost page and the 2026 comparison.

How do the stability and age rules compare?

The two Manulife plans are near-identical: 180 days at every age, questionnaire from 55 to 85, Enhanced to 85, Basic with no maximum age and no pre-existing cover. Secure Travel uses 90 days to 69, 180 days from 70 to 84, no questionnaire, and insures to 89.

Rule Manulife CoverMe Enhanced 21st Century Enhanced Secure Travel
Stability, to 69 180 days 180 days 90 days
Stability, 70 and over 180 days (to 85) 180 days (to 85) 180 days (to 84)
Questionnaire 55 to 85 (PolicyAdvisor); 40+ per Manulife PDF 55 to 85 Not described
Maximum age, with pre-existing cover 85 85 84
Maximum age, without None (Basic) None (Basic) 89 (new emergencies only 85 to 89)
Waiting period, bought after arrival Not stated 72 hours within 30 days; 7 days after 8 days if bought more than 30 days after arrival
Provinces not served None stated None stated Quebec

Sources: PolicyAdvisor Manulife review, PolicyAdvisor 21st Century review and PolicyAdvisor Secure Travel review. The Manulife questionnaire is a protection as well as a hurdle: a no-questionnaire plan is underwritten at claim time instead. See pre-existing conditions.

What are the benefit limits and payment options?

Secure Travel’s $1,000,000 ceiling is five times the Manulife plans’ $200,000, though all three exceed the IRCC minimum. 21st Century pays $1,500 for prescriptions, Secure Travel Enhanced $1,000 and CoverMe $500. Two of the three take monthly payments.

Item Manulife CoverMe Enhanced 21st Century Enhanced Secure Travel Enhanced
Maximum sum insured $200,000 $200,000 (+$50,000 injury) $1,000,000
Prescription drugs $500 $1,500 $1,000
Dental, injury / pain $4,000 / $300 $4,000 / $300 $3,000 / $500
AD&D $25,000 $25,000 $50,000
Repatriation of remains $3,000 plus $3,000 burial Included; cap not published $10,000
Deductible range 5% to 40% ($100 to $10,000) 5% to 40%, plus disappearing $2,500 $0 to $3,000
Monthly plan None 2 months plus $50 2 months plus $120, then 10 instalments
Two-year rate lock None 730-day policy None
Side trips 30 days or 49% of days 30 days total, 51% in Canada Covered en route and on side trips

Sources as above and PolicyAdvisor monthly plans. Monthly instalments are compared on monthly plans.

How do refunds and claims rules compare?

CoverMe refunds a refused applicant in full and has the lowest cancellation charge, a $25 minimum. 21st Century keeps its $50 fee and charges $250 otherwise. Secure Travel deducts an administration fee and never refunds its $120 monthly fee. All three apply a 20 percent penalty for not calling the assistance line and set a 90-day proof deadline.

Rule Manulife CoverMe 21st Century Secure Travel
Visa refused, before effective date Full Full less $50 fee, proof within 30 days Full less administration fee, within 60 days
Early return, no claims Unused days, $25 minimum, within 60 days Unused full months, $25 per refund Pro-rata less administration fee
Other cancellation fee $25 minimum $250 Administration fee
Withdrawn or denied claim $300 handling fee from refund Not stated No refund
Not calling assistance Pay 20% of eligible expenses 20% co-insurance 20% of eligible expenses
Proof of claim 90 days 30 days notice; 90 days documents 90 days

Sources: Manulife policy PDF and PolicyAdvisor reviews above. Claim steps: Manulife CoverMe, 21st Century and Secure Travel.

Which profile does each plan fit?

Secure Travel fits almost every price-led profile from 55 to 84 and every parent under 70 with a recent medication change. 21st Century fits two-year stays and monthly payers who want Manulife paper. CoverMe fits a family that wants a full refund on refusal, the lowest cancellation charge, or the Manulife name at 60 to 75 paying annually.

Profile Lower or better fit on 18 Oct 2026 Why
Parent 55 to 75, price-led Secure Travel, by $314 to $1,712 Lowest at every age
Parent under 70, dose changed 3 to 5 months ago Secure Travel 90-day rule; Manulife plans need 180
Wants a Manulife certificate, 55 21st Century, by $274 Lower of the two Manulife plans at 55
Wants a Manulife certificate, 60 to 75 Manulife CoverMe, by $212 to $502 Lower of the two from 60
Monthly pay, Manulife paper 21st Century CoverMe has no instalments
Monthly pay, lowest instalment Secure Travel Lower instalment at every age despite $120 fee
Two-year stay 21st Century 730-day rate lock
May cancel after the start date Manulife CoverMe $25 minimum
Visa refused before start Manulife CoverMe Full refund, no fee
Host in Quebec None through SuperVisaDirect Secure Travel excludes Quebec; SuperVisaDirect does not serve Quebec

None of the three is sold on SuperVisaDirect; the plan we sell is TuGo, and the 2026 comparison shows all four side by side. The two Manulife plans in detail: 21st Century vs Manulife CoverMe.

Questions people ask

Which of the three is lowest in price?

Secure Travel at every age we compared on 18 October 2026: $1,577 at 55 against $1,891 (21st Century) and $2,165 (Manulife); $2,051 at 65 against $3,095 and $2,874; $4,000 at 75 against $5,712 and $5,427. All at $100,000, no deductible, stable conditions covered. Between the two Manulife plans, 21st Century was lower only at 55.

Are Manulife CoverMe and 21st Century the same insurer?

Same underwriter, different plans. Both certificates name The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company, and both use Active Care Management for assistance. CoverMe is Manulife's direct retail product; 21st Century is a Cobourg, Ontario managing general agent's plan sold through brokers with its own prices, monthly plan and two-year lock. Secure Travel is on iA Financial Group paper.

Which has the shortest stability period?

Secure Travel: 90 days to age 69 and 180 days from 70 to 84. Both Manulife-underwritten plans require 180 days at every age on their Enhanced tiers, with a questionnaire from 55 to 85. For a parent under 70 whose medication changed four or five months ago, only Secure Travel covers the condition.

Which offer monthly payments?

21st Century (two months' premium plus $50 fee) and Secure Travel (two months plus $120 fee, then 10 instalments). Manulife CoverMe is annual-pay only. On the monthly plan Secure Travel's instalment was lower at every age despite the higher fee; see the monthly plans page for the figures.

Which covers the oldest parent?

Secure Travel to 89 (new emergencies only from 85) and both Manulife plans' Basic tiers with no maximum age but no pre-existing cover. For stable conditions, Secure Travel covers to 84 and the Manulife Enhanced tiers to 85. At 86 and over with conditions, none of the three; TuGo Comprehensive is the alternative.

What happens if the visa is refused?

Manulife CoverMe refunds in full with the IRCC letter. 21st Century refunds the deposit less its $50 fee with proof within 30 days. Secure Travel refunds less an administration fee, with the request within 60 days under MSH terms. All three require cancellation before the effective date and no claim.

Get the policy IRCC requires, in minutes

Three questions, one price, one button. The certificate your parent needs is emailed the same day.

Get my policy

Sources