Can you pay for visitors to Canada insurance monthly?

Yes, but only on longer terms. Travelance offers instalments on policies of 90 days or more, Destination on 180 days or more with at least $50,000 of cover, and 21st Century and Secure Travel on 365-day policies. All take a two-month deposit plus a fee of $10 to $120. Manulife, GMS and Allianz are paid in full up front. Trips under 90 days are paid in full at every carrier.

Rules and prices checked October 18, 2026. Written by a licensed advisor at SuperVisaDirect, FSRA licence [FSRA-LICENCE].

Yes, you can pay for visitors to Canada insurance monthly, but only on longer policies. Travelance offers instalments from 90 days, Destination from 180 days with at least $50,000 of cover, and 21st Century and Secure Travel on 365-day terms. Each takes a two-month deposit plus a set-up fee of $10 to $120. Manulife, GMS and Allianz are paid in full. A trip shorter than 90 days is paid up front at every carrier, which for a 65-year-old on a two-month visit is roughly $270 to $340.

Which carriers allow instalments, and on what terms?

Four of the eight carriers in our comparison. The minimum term is the deciding factor: a 90-day visit opens one option, a six-month visit two, and only a full-year policy opens all four.

Instalment terms as reported by PolicyAdvisor and the SuperVisaDirect fact sheet, Oct 2026 — confirm with the insurer at quote time.

Carrier (underwriter) Minimum term Minimum coverage Deposit Fee Schedule
Travelance (Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada) 90 days Not stated 2 months’ premium $60 billing fee (fact sheet: $60 to $100) Monthly; deposit applied to the last two payments
Destination (Zurich Insurance Company Ltd, Canadian Branch) 180 days $50,000 2 months’ premium $10 (fact sheet); PolicyAdvisor reports a 10% surcharge Third month due on the effective date, then monthly
21st Century (Manulife) 365 or 730 days $100,000 2 months’ premium $50 policy fee Third payment when coverage starts, then monthly
Secure Travel (iA Financial Group, claims by MSH) 365 days Not stated 2 months’ premium $120 issue fee Balance in 10 instalments of 1/12 each
Manulife CoverMe (Manufacturers Life) Not offered – – – Paid in full
GMS (Group Medical Services) Not offered – – – Paid in full
Allianz Global Assistance (CUMIS General Insurance) Not offered – – – “Full premium must be paid upfront”
TuGo (iA Financial Group) Unverified – – – Confirm with the insurer at quote time

Destination’s fee is reported two ways; ask which applies to the policy quoted.

What does a monthly plan cost for a typical visit?

The same premium as a lump sum, divided by the term, plus the fee. Using PolicyAdvisor’s October 2026 monthly figure of $168.60 for a 65-year-old with stable pre-existing cover, a six-month policy is about $1,012 in total.

Illustration, 65-year-old, $100,000, stable pre-existing cover, 183 days, derived from PolicyAdvisor’s monthly rate, Oct 2026 — verify at quote time.

Payment method At purchase Then Total paid
Lump sum about $1,012 Nothing about $1,012
Travelance instalments about $337 (2 months) plus $60 fee about $169 a month for 4 months, deposit covering the last 2 about $1,072
Destination instalments about $337 (2 months) plus $10 fee about $169 a month from the effective date about $1,022, or about $1,113 if a 10% surcharge applies

The arithmetic is ours and assumes the carrier’s day rate matches the PolicyAdvisor average; actual carrier premiums differ. The 6-month trip page works through a full example.

What is the alternative for short trips?

Pay in full, or buy a 30-day policy and renew it. Visitor plans are priced per day, so a 30-day policy renewed before expiry costs the same as a 60-day policy bought at once, with no fee. The risk is that a renewal is an extension, and extensions are refused after a claim or a health change.

Approach Works for Risk
Lump sum for the whole trip Any length None; pro-rata refund on early return
30-day policy renewed monthly Parents whose plans are uncertain Renewal refused after a claim; must request before expiry
Instalment plan 90, 180 or 365 days and over Lapse on missed payment; deposit forfeited after arrival at 21st Century

Rules for renewing without a gap are on the extending coverage page.

What happens if a payment is missed?

Coverage lapses after the grace period. PolicyAdvisor reports that Travelance ends coverage after two consecutive missed months, and that most providers offer a grace period before the policy lapses. A lapsed policy reinstated later is a new purchase, with a waiting period and a fresh questionnaire.

Three precautions: use a Canadian credit card with headroom, not the parent’s foreign card; set the billing date a week after payday; and ask the carrier to email you, not only the parent, on a failed payment.

Are the deposit and fees refundable?

Fees no, deposits sometimes. Per PolicyAdvisor’s refund guide, monthly instalment fees of roughly $10 to $15 a month are non-refundable, and set-up fees are non-refundable at every carrier. Travelance refunds the deposit if the policy is cancelled before coverage starts; 21st Century’s deposit becomes non-refundable once the parent has arrived, even if the policy is cancelled early.

Full cancellation rules are on the refunds page.

Does a monthly visitor plan work for a super visa?

Only if it is a 365-day, $100,000 policy. IRCC accepts a policy “paid in full or in instalments with a deposit,” but the term must be one year from the date of entry. 21st Century and Secure Travel plans qualify by design; a Travelance 90-day or Destination 180-day instalment plan does not. Super visa instalment pricing, with examples such as $111 a month at age 58, is on the super visa monthly page.

SuperVisaDirect is operated by Super Visa Direct Insurance Services, an independent Ontario life and accident-and-sickness insurance agency licensed by FSRA (licence [FSRA-LICENCE]). We serve Ontario residents; other provinces are planned for 2028. Email [email protected] or request a callback, Monday to Friday, 8:00am to 6:00pm Eastern Time.

Questions people ask

Which carriers offer monthly payments on a visitor plan?

Four in our comparison: Travelance (Old Republic), minimum 90 days, two months' deposit plus a $60 billing fee; Destination (Zurich, Canadian Branch), minimum 180 days and $50,000, two months plus $10; 21st Century (Manulife), 365 or 730 days and at least $100,000, two months plus $50; Secure Travel (iA Financial Group), 365 days, two months plus $120, then ten instalments.

Can I pay monthly for a two-month trip?

No. The shortest instalment term is Travelance's 90 days. A 60-day policy for a 65-year-old costs roughly $270 to $340 and is paid in full. The alternative is a 30-day policy renewed each month, which several carriers allow if no claim has been made and the renewal is requested before expiry; see the extension page.

What happens if a payment is missed?

Coverage lapses. Travelance ends coverage after two consecutive missed months; other carriers give a short grace period, then cancel. A lapsed policy reinstated later is treated as a new purchase after arrival, with a 48-hour to 7-day illness waiting period, and the deposit may be forfeited. Keep a card with headroom on file.

Is the deposit refundable?

Partly. Travelance applies the two-month deposit to the last two scheduled payments and refunds it if the policy is cancelled before coverage starts. 21st Century's deposit becomes non-refundable once the parent is in Canada. Set-up fees are non-refundable at every carrier. PolicyAdvisor notes monthly plan fees of roughly $10 to $15 a month are also non-refundable.

Does paying monthly cost more overall?

Slightly: the set-up fee, and at Destination a surcharge that PolicyAdvisor reports as 10% while our fact sheet records a flat $10. The underlying day rate is the same. For a six-month policy for a 65-year-old at about $800 to $1,000, the fee is a small share; for a 365-day super visa policy at $2,000 or more, instalments are the usual choice.

Is a monthly visitor plan accepted for a super visa?

Yes, if the policy term is 365 days from the date of entry and at least $100,000. IRCC accepts payment in full or in instalments with a deposit. A 90- or 180-day instalment plan does not meet the super visa term requirement. Super visa instalment details are on the super visa monthly page.

Get the policy IRCC requires, in minutes

Three questions, one price, one button. The certificate your parent needs is emailed the same day.

Get my policy

Sources