Visitor insurance for grandchildren and minors visiting Canada

Children visiting Canada can be insured from 15 days old at Allianz, Destination and Travelance and 30 days at Manulife, with no medical questions. They cost least when added to a family policy: TuGo's Family and Friends rate covers up to six children with two adults under 60, Travelance charges twice the eldest person's premium for the whole family. A child alone costs about $45 to $75 a month for $25,000 to $100,000.

Rules and prices checked October 18, 2026. Written by a licensed advisor at SuperVisaDirect, FSRA licence [FSRA-LICENCE].

Children visiting Canada can be insured from 15 days old at Allianz, Destination and Travelance and from 30 days at Manulife, with no medical questions. The lowest-cost route is a family policy: TuGo’s Family and Friends rate covers up to six dependent children with two adults aged 59 or under, and Travelance charges twice the eldest person’s premium for the whole family. A child insured alone costs about $45 to $75 a month for $25,000 and $65 to $110 for $100,000, per PolicyAdvisor’s ranges for ages 0 to 40.

Why insure a child visiting Canada?

Because children have accidents, and a non-resident child is billed like any other non-resident. A fracture, a fever that becomes an admission, or an appendectomy runs to thousands of dollars at the $3,750-a-day ward rate in Ontario. IRCC does not require insurance for a child’s visitor visa or eTA, only a letter authorizing the minor to travel where applicable.

Child’s situation Provincial coverage? What to buy
Grandchild visiting from abroad with parents No Family visitor policy
Grandchild visiting alone or with grandparents No Standalone child policy, or TuGo Family and Friends if the adults are 59 or under
Child of a work or study permit holder After the provincial waiting period, if any Permit-holder plan until enrolled
Baby born in Canada to visiting parents Yes; Canadian citizen; no OHIP wait in Ontario Apply for OHIP; mother’s visitor plan does not cover the birth at most carriers
Child of a new permanent resident After the waiting period in provinces that have one; none in Ontario Provincial waiting period cover

What is the minimum age at each carrier?

Two weeks to one month. Newborns travelling in their first month need a carrier with a 15-day minimum.

Minimum and maximum ages, carrier pages as read 18 Oct 2026 — confirm with the insurer at quote time.

Carrier (underwriter) Minimum age Children on a family policy
Allianz Global Assistance (CUMIS General Insurance) 15 days Confirm at quote
Destination (Zurich Insurance Company Ltd, Canadian Branch) 15 days Dependent children; premium on the oldest traveller under 60
Travelance (Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada) 15 days Family rate: 2× the eldest insured’s premium
Manulife CoverMe (Manufacturers Life) 30 days Family coverage if everyone is under 55
RBC Insurance (not a SuperVisaDirect carrier) 1 month Confirm
TuGo (iA Financial Group) Not stated in the published summary Family and Friends: up to 2 adults aged 59 or under and up to 6 dependent children (unmarried, under 21, or under 25 if full-time students; no limit for children with disabilities)
GMS (Group Medical Services) Confirm at quote No medical questions under 55
Secure Travel (iA Financial Group, claims by MSH) 15 days Confirm at quote
21st Century (Manulife) Confirm at quote 5% per travelling companion; family rates offered

What does a child’s policy cost?

Little, because the day rate at the youngest ages is the lowest on the grid. PolicyAdvisor’s ranges for ages 0 to 40 are $45 to $75 a month at $25,000, $55 to $90 at $50,000 and $65 to $110 at $100,000. On a family rate the marginal cost of a child is often nil.

Monthly premium ranges, healthy visitor aged 0 to 40, 30 to 180 days, PolicyAdvisor, Feb 2026 — verify at quote time.

Coverage Monthly range 3-week trip (derived)
$25,000 $45 to $75 about $32 to $53
$50,000 $55 to $90 about $39 to $63
$100,000 $65 to $110 about $46 to $77
$150,000 $75 to $130 about $53 to $91

The three-week figures are our arithmetic and indicative only. For a child, $100,000 is sensible: the premium difference from $50,000 is small and a paediatric ICU admission is as expensive as an adult one.

What do the plans cover for a child?

Emergency medical treatment, injuries from the effective date, emergency dental from an accident, and in some plans benefits for the accompanying parent. Benefits worth checking for a child are listed below.

Benefit GMS (Group Medical Services) RBC (not a SuperVisaDirect carrier) TuGo (iA Financial Group)
Accidental dental Up to $2,000 plus $300 for pain relief $2,000 plus $300 Confirm at quote
Out-of-pocket for an accompanying family member $150 a day to $1,000 $300 for a bedside companion Confirm at quote
Childcare if a parent is hospitalized Up to $500 Not stated Child care benefit for insured children 18 or under
Return of dependent children Confirm at quote Return to departure point unlimited Covered to 21, or 25 if a full-time student
Repatriation Up to $5,000 Unlimited transportation Confirm at quote

Routine care is never covered: vaccinations, check-ups, developmental assessments and orthodontics are excluded on every plan. The exclusions page has the full list.

Are a child’s pre-existing conditions covered?

Only if stable, like an adult’s. A child with asthma on an unchanged inhaler for 180 days is covered for an asthma attack at a 180-day carrier; a child whose inhaler was changed last month is not. No questionnaire is asked, so the test is applied at claim time from the medical records. Keep the medication list with the certificate.

Condition Typically covered if Watch for
Asthma Same inhaler and dose for the stability period A new puffer or a recent ER visit resets stability
Epilepsy Same medication, no seizures requiring treatment change Dose changes with growth
Type 1 diabetes Stable regimen; insulin adjustments may count as changes Ask the carrier how insulin titration is treated
Congenital heart condition Stable, no pending surgery or tests Pending follow-up makes it unstable
Food allergy Covered as an emergency; carry the auto-injector Not a pre-existing exclusion issue unless recently investigated

Practical steps for a child’s policy

Buy before the flight, name the child exactly as in the passport, and give the parent or grandparent travelling with the child the assistance number.

Step Detail
1. Decide family or standalone Family rate if two adults under 60 are travelling; otherwise standalone
2. Quote with the child’s date of birth and the trip dates Day-rated; add 3 days
3. Choose $100,000 Small premium difference from $50,000
4. Buy before departure Injuries are covered from day one even after arrival, but illness waits 48 hours to 7 days
5. Put the certificate and assistance number with the travel-consent letter The adult at the hospital must call before or at admission

SuperVisaDirect is operated by Super Visa Direct Insurance Services, an independent Ontario life and accident-and-sickness insurance agency licensed by FSRA (licence [FSRA-LICENCE]). We serve Ontario residents; other provinces are planned for 2028. Email [email protected] or request a callback, Monday to Friday, 8:00am to 6:00pm Eastern Time.

Questions people ask

From what age can a child be insured?

15 days at Allianz, Destination and Travelance; 30 days at Manulife; one month at RBC. TuGo's policy sets no minimum age in its published summary. Newborns are usually added to a parent's policy. Confirm the minimum with the carrier if the child is under two months old on the arrival date.

Do children answer medical questions?

No; the questionnaire applies from 55 or 60 depending on the carrier. The pre-existing exclusion still applies, so a child with asthma, epilepsy or a congenital condition is covered for it only if it has been stable for the carrier's period, typically 90 to 180 days. Disclose it anyway when asked and keep the medication list with the certificate.

Is it cheaper to add a child to a family policy?

Usually. TuGo's Family and Friends rate covers two adults aged 59 or under and up to six dependent children; Travelance's family rate is twice the premium of the eldest insured person, so children are effectively free beyond the second person; Destination prices the family on the oldest traveller under 60; Manulife's family coverage requires everyone to be under 55.

My grandchild is coming alone with my parents. Whose policy?

A separate child policy, or a Family and Friends policy with the grandparents if they are 59 or under at TuGo. Grandparents over 60 are rated individually and cannot usually be the adults on a family rate, so buy the child a standalone policy at the same carrier so one assistance line handles everyone.

Does the policy cover a child's emergency dental or a broken arm?

Yes, on every plan in our comparison. Injuries are covered from the effective date even on policies bought after arrival. Emergency dental from an accident is covered to $2,000 at GMS and RBC, $1,000 at Secure Travel Standard. Routine check-ups, vaccinations and orthodontics are excluded.

What about a child born in Canada to visiting parents?

The baby is a Canadian citizen and is eligible for provincial health coverage; in Ontario there is no waiting period. The mother's delivery is not covered on a visitor plan at most carriers, which exclude pregnancy and childbirth, though TuGo offers a maternity benefit up to $6,000. Check before travelling while pregnant.

Get the policy IRCC requires, in minutes

Three questions, one price, one button. The certificate your parent needs is emailed the same day.

Get my policy

Sources