Buy a Canadian single-trip emergency medical policy for Hajj or Umrah, even though the Saudi visa already includes insurance. The visa policy pays up to SAR 100,000, works only inside Saudi Arabia and excludes pre-existing conditions, per Gulf News and Wego. OHIP pays at most $400 a day abroad. One complication is new for 2026: Canada rated Saudi Arabia “avoid non-essential travel” on 18 October 2026, and that advisory level triggers exclusions in most Canadian policies.
What does the Saudi visa insurance actually cover?
A capped, Saudi-only policy aimed at accidents, death and flight disruption, not at a pilgrim with a heart condition. Wego sets out the Tawuniya Hajj policy, approved by the Ministry of Hajj and Umrah and the Council of Health Insurance, and Gulf News reports the Umrah programme announced in July 2023 as included in the visa fee.
| Benefit | Hajj policy (Tawuniya) | Umrah programme |
|---|---|---|
| Duration | Up to 75 days from entry | Visa period |
| Emergency medical | COVID-19 care up to SAR 650,000; no general medical limit published | Up to SAR 100,000 overall |
| Accidental death or disability | Up to SAR 100,000 | Within the SAR 100,000 cap |
| Repatriation of remains | Up to SAR 10,000 | Not stated |
| Medical evacuation of a living patient to Canada | Not listed | Not listed |
| Flight delay from Saudi Arabia | SAR 50 an hour after 4 hours, capped at SAR 500 | Covered, amount not stated |
| Pre-existing conditions | Excluded | Not stated; assume excluded |
| Treatment in transit countries | Excluded | Excluded |
Sources: Wego, Gulf News. Wego’s exclusion list also covers non-emergency treatment, luggage, personal liability and cancellation before departure. The benefit a 65-year-old pilgrim is most likely to need, an air ambulance home after a stroke, does not appear in either policy.
What does a Canadian policy add?
Evacuation, pre-existing conditions and cover in transit. The Government of Canada’s travel insurance page says every policy should cover medical evacuation to Canada or the nearest suitable facility, pre-existing conditions confirmed in writing, and repatriation after a death. Its Saudi Arabia page adds that immediate cash payment may be required for care.
| Risk on pilgrimage | Saudi policy | Canadian policy |
|---|---|---|
| Heat stroke at Arafat, ward admission | Covered to cap | Covered to policy limit |
| Heart attack, ICU, then air ambulance to Toronto | ICU to cap; no flight | ICU and flight, subject to insurer approval |
| Fall during Tawaf, surgery, extended stay | Covered to cap | Covered, plus accommodation for a companion at some carriers |
| Diabetic crisis (pre-existing) | Excluded | Covered if stable for the carrier’s period |
| Illness during a stopover in Dubai or Istanbul | Excluded | Covered if the transit stop is named |
| Death abroad | Remains up to SAR 10,000 | Remains or local burial to policy limit |
Name Saudi Arabia and every transit country on the application. A pilgrim over 60 completes a questionnaire at every carrier; Manulife’s multi-trip summary requires 3 months of stability for applicants 59 and under and 6 months from 59 and over, and PolicyAdvisor records TuGo at 180 days for ages 60 to 74 and 365 days from 75.
Does the Canadian travel advisory affect the policy?
Yes, and it is the question to settle before paying. The Government of Canada’s Saudi Arabia advisory, updated 18 October 2026, says avoid non-essential travel countrywide and avoid all travel to Riyadh’s King Khalid International Airport, Asir, Jazan, Najran and within 30 km of the Yemen border. Mecca, Medina and Jeddah are outside the avoid-all-travel zones but inside the national advisory.
Manulife’s Premium Protection Plan policy excludes expenses where an advisory to avoid non-essential or all travel was issued before departure, unless you can show the loss is unrelated to the advisory. Manulife’s Middle East update dates the Saudi advisory to 28 February 2026 and says departures on or after that date have no emergency medical benefits for reasons related to the advisory, while unrelated emergencies may still be covered.
| Scenario | Likely treatment at Manulife (CoverMe, Manufacturers Life) |
|---|---|
| Heat stroke, fall, heart attack in Mecca | Unrelated to the security advisory; claim should proceed |
| Injury in a security incident | Related to the advisory; excluded |
| Any claim in Jazan or Najran | Avoid-all-travel zone; expect exclusion |
| Trip cancellation because of the advisory, policy bought after 28 Feb 2026 | Excluded |
Other carriers use similar wording; TuGo (iA Financial Group) and Allianz Global Assistance (CUMIS General Insurance) exclude losses related to an advisory in force at departure. Ask the insurer in writing how it treats a medical claim in Mecca under the current advisory, and keep the answer with the policy.
What does OHIP pay in Saudi Arabia?
Fixed daily amounts after you have paid the hospital. Ontario’s page pays up to $400 a day for operating-room, intensive, coronary or neonatal care, $200 a day for lower levels of care, $50 a day for emergency outpatient care and physician fees at the lesser of the bill or the Ontario rate. It does not cover a transfer to an Ontario hospital. See what provincial plans pay abroad for other provinces.
What should a Canadian pilgrim do before departure?
Four things, in this order.
- Visit a travel clinic about six weeks out for the polio, meningococcal and yellow fever requirements listed on the Saudi Arabia page, and check the Nusuk platform for current rules.
- Buy the Canadian policy before any medication change the clinic recommends, so the questionnaire reflects a stable condition.
- Carry the Canadian policy number and assistance line, and the Saudi policy’s claims contact, on paper; Wego names Total Care Saudi as the Hajj claims handler.
- If admitted, call the Canadian insurer’s assistance line before treatment or within 24 hours; the claims guide has the sequence.
Pilgrims over 70 should read over-70 travellers for the age-based stability periods and trip-length limits. Families combining Hajj with a visit to Pakistan should check the Pakistan page for that leg.
SuperVisaDirect is operated by Super Visa Direct Insurance Services, an independent Ontario life and accident-and-sickness insurance agency licensed by FSRA (licence [FSRA-LICENCE]), serving Ontario residents; British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba are planned for 2028. Designated licensed agent: Cameron Hayes. Email [email protected] or request a callback, Monday to Friday, 8:00am to 6:00pm Eastern Time.
Questions people ask
Is insurance included with a Hajj or Umrah visa?
Yes. Saudi Arabia bundles a mandatory policy with both visas and there is no opt-out. The Umrah programme pays up to SAR 100,000 for emergency medical cases, accidents, death and flight delays; the Hajj policy from Tawuniya runs up to 75 days from entry. Neither covers pre-existing conditions or treatment outside Saudi Arabia, including transit countries.
Does the Saudi policy fly me back to Canada if I am seriously ill?
No published benefit does. The Hajj policy covers repatriation of mortal remains up to SAR 10,000 and COVID-related repatriation assistance; it lists no medical evacuation of a living patient to the home country. A Canadian policy covers evacuation to Canada or the nearest suitable hospital, which the Government of Canada lists as the first thing a policy must cover.
Will my diabetes or heart condition be covered on Hajj?
Not by the Saudi policy, which excludes pre-existing conditions. A Canadian policy covers them if stable for its period before departure: Manulife requires 3 months under 60 and 6 months from 60, TuGo 180 days from 60 to 74 and 365 days from 75. A medication change inside the window makes the condition unstable, so buy before the pre-trip clinic visit.
Does the Canadian advisory for Saudi Arabia void my travel insurance?
It can limit it. On 18 October 2026 Canada advised against non-essential travel to Saudi Arabia, with avoid-all-travel zones near Yemen and at Riyadh's airport. Manulife excludes claims related to an advisory issued before departure but says unrelated medical emergencies may still be covered. Get the insurer's position in writing before you buy.
What vaccines does Saudi Arabia require for pilgrims?
The Government of Canada's Saudi Arabia page lists polio, meningococcal meningitis and yellow fever as entry requirements for Umrah, Hajj or seasonal work in Hajj zones, and refers pilgrims to the Nusuk platform for current rules. A travel clinic visit about six weeks before departure covers the vaccines and the timing of the insurance questionnaire.
What does OHIP pay if I am admitted to hospital in Mecca?
Up to $400 a day for intensive or operating-room care, $200 a day for a ward, $50 a day for emergency outpatient care and physician fees at Ontario rates, claimed after you have paid. OHIP does not pay for a transfer to an Ontario hospital. The Government of Canada's Saudi page warns that immediate cash payment may be required.
Get the policy IRCC requires, in minutes
Three questions, one price, one button. The certificate your parent needs is emailed the same day.
Sources
- Wego — Is Hajj insurance mandatory for a Saudi visa? (Tawuniya Hajj policy terms)
- Gulf News — Mandatory Umrah insurance included in visa fees (24 Jul 2023)
- Government of Canada — Travel advice and advisories: Saudi Arabia (18 Oct 2026)
- Government of Canada — Travel insurance
- Manulife — Premium Protection Plan policy (exclusions 7 and 8)
- Manulife — Update on individual travel insurance coverage related to Middle East travel advisories
- Manulife — Multi-trip Emergency Medical product summary
- PolicyAdvisor — TuGo travel insurance review (stability periods, 2026)
- Ontario — OHIP coverage while outside Canada