The free look is a minimum 10-day review period after purchase during which a super visa insurance policy can be cancelled for a full refund with no fee. The THIA Bill of Rights states that “travel insurance providers will allow a minimum 10-day free review of the policy.” It applies only if the effective date has not passed and no claim has been made. Manulife, TuGo, Travelance, GMS, Allianz and Secure Travel state it in their terms; 21st Century, Destination and MSH terms do not.
The free look exists so that the buyer can read the whole policy after paying, with the certificate in hand, and walk away if it does not fit. For a super visa policy bought months before the parent travels, it is the only fee-free exit other than a visa refusal.
What does the THIA right say?
The Travel Health Insurance Association’s Bill of Rights sets out what member insurers promise and what travellers are responsible for. The free look is one promise among several: a copy of the medical questionnaire answers before the policy starts, the right to challenge decisions with new information, 24/7 assistance, and a policy that names the underwriter.
| THIA promise | Exact wording | Use during the free look |
|---|---|---|
| Free review | “Travel insurance providers will allow a minimum 10-day free review of the policy” | Cancel for a full refund within 10 days |
| Copy of answers | “You will receive a copy of the answers you provided on the medical questionnaire prior to the start of your policy” | Check each answer against the pharmacy printout |
| Appeal | “You may challenge decisions and request additional reviews with new information” | Not needed yet; relevant at claim time |
| Responsibilities | “The travel insurance application needs to be completed accurately”; “take the time to read and understand your policy” | The free look is when both are done |
The Bill of Rights is a commitment by THIA’s members, not a statute. The policy wording is the contract, and the THIA Bill of Rights page explains how the two relate.
Which insurers state a free look?
Six of the nine we track state a 10-day full refund in their published terms. Three do not, per the PolicyAdvisor summary of 18 June 2026. Terms seen October 2026 — verify in the policy document.
| Insurer (underwriter) | Free look | Conditions stated |
|---|---|---|
| Manulife CoverMe (Manufacturers Life) | 10 days from purchase | Not departed; no claim in progress |
| TuGo (iA Financial Group) | 10 days | “A full refund is available provided no travel has taken place”; no claim; policy not expired |
| Travelance (Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada) | 10 days | Cancelled before coverage begins |
| GMS (Group Medical Services) | 10 days | Policy returned within 10 days after receiving the contract |
| Allianz Global Assistance (CUMIS General Insurance) | 10 days from purchase | “Within 10 days of purchase for a full premium refund”; not departed; no claim event |
| Secure Travel/RIMI (iA Financial Group; claims by MSH) | 10 days | Within 10 days of purchase and before the effective date |
| 21st Century (Manulife) | Not stated | Visa-refusal refund in full before the start; $250 otherwise |
| Destination (Zurich Insurance Company Ltd, Canadian Branch) | Not stated | Visa-refusal refund in full before the start; $150 otherwise |
| MSH-administered plans | Not stated | Visa-refusal refund in full within 60 days; $250 otherwise |
Sources: TuGo wording, Allianz summary, Manulife policy, PolicyAdvisor summary. Where the published terms do not state a free look, ask the insurer in writing before buying whether one applies; the cancellation fees page shows what a cancellation costs without it.
What are the conditions?
Three, at every insurer that offers it: the request is made within the window, the effective date has not passed, and no claim has been made. The window runs from purchase, or from receipt of the documents at GMS, not from the effective date.
| Scenario | Free look applies? |
|---|---|
| Bought 1 October, start date 1 April, cancel 8 October | Yes; full refund |
| Bought 1 October, start date 1 April, cancel 20 October | No; the 10 days have passed; visa-refusal refund or cancellation fee applies |
| Bought 1 October, start date 5 October, cancel 8 October | No at most insurers; the effective date has passed; pro-rata at best |
| Bought 1 October, parent visited a clinic 6 October, cancel 8 October | No; a claim was made |
| Bought on a monthly plan, cancel on day 5 | Yes; deposit refunded; confirm whether the set-up fee is returned |
The third row is the trap for a parent who is already in Canada or arriving within days of purchase: the free look is cut short by the effective date. For that case, read the policy before paying.
What should you do during the 10 days?
Read the policy against the parent’s documents and the IRCC rule, line by line. It takes an hour. If any line fails, cancel in writing and buy elsewhere. The how to read your policy page shows where each clause sits.
- Check the certificate: the parent’s name and date of birth as in the passport, the underwriter’s name, $100,000 or more, and effective and expiry dates 365 days apart from the planned arrival.
- Find the definition of “stable” and the stability period for the parent’s age; confirm the parent’s last medication change falls outside it. See stability periods by insurer.
- Re-read every questionnaire answer against the pharmacy printout and the doctor’s letter; correct any error with the insurer in writing.
- Read the exclusions and the follow-up, prescription and repatriation limits.
- Check the refund terms for a visa refusal and the cancellation fee, and the deadline for each.
- If anything does not fit, email the insurer to cancel, quoting the policy number and the free look, and keep the acknowledgement.
A written correction to an answer during the free look costs nothing. The same correction discovered at claim time can void the policy; see misrepresentation and voided policies.
How does the free look compare with the other exits?
It is the only unconditional one. The visa-refusal refund needs the IRCC letter; the early-return refund needs proof of departure and no claims; everything else carries a fee.
| Exit | Window | Document | Fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free look | 10 days from purchase, before the effective date | None | None |
| Visa refusal | Any time before the effective date; 30 to 60-day request windows at some insurers | IRCC refusal letter | None at Manulife, 21st Century, Travelance, Destination; administration fee at GMS and Secure Travel |
| Other cancellation before the start | Any time before the effective date | Written request | $150 to $250 at most insurers |
| Early return | After the effective date | Proof of departure | $25 to $250; no claims |
| Date change | Before the effective date | Written request | None at every insurer we compare |
For a switch to a different insurer after the free look, the switching insurers page covers how to line up the new policy before cancelling the old one. The how to cancel page has the template email. Super Visa Direct Insurance Services reviews every policy it places with the client during the free look, by email at [email protected] or callback, Monday to Friday, 8:00am to 6:00pm Eastern Time.
Questions people ask
How long is the free look period?
A minimum of 10 days from purchase under the THIA Bill of Rights, which says travel insurance providers will allow a minimum 10-day free review of the policy. Manulife, TuGo, Travelance, GMS and Allianz state 10 days from purchase; Secure Travel states 10 days and before the effective date. Some insurers allow longer; none we compare allows less.
Does the free look run from purchase or from the effective date?
From purchase, or from receipt of the policy documents at GMS. The condition is that the effective date has not passed. A super visa policy bought in October for an April start has a 10-day free look in October, not in April. Use it when the certificate arrives, not when the parent lands.
Which insurers do not state a free look?
PolicyAdvisor's June 2026 summary lists no free look at 21st Century, Destination and MSH-administered plans. Those insurers still refund in full on a visa refusal before the effective date, and 21st Century and Destination charge $250 and $150 for other pre-start cancellations. Confirm the current wording with the insurer at quote time.
What should I check during the 10 days?
The name and date of birth on the certificate against the passport, the underwriter, the $100,000 amount, the effective and expiry dates, the stability clause and its period for the parent's age, the questionnaire answers against the pharmacy printout, and the exclusions. If anything does not fit, cancel and buy elsewhere without a fee.
Can I use the free look to switch to a cheaper insurer?
Yes. The free look is a full refund for any reason, as long as the policy has not started and no claim was made. If a lower quote or a shorter stability period turns up within 10 days of buying, cancel the first policy in writing, confirm the refund, and buy the second. After the 10 days, the cancellation fee applies.
Is the free look the same as the visa-refusal refund?
No. The free look is a short, unconditional window after purchase. The visa-refusal refund is available any time before the effective date, with the IRCC refusal letter, at every insurer we compare, in full at four and less an administration fee at two. Most families use the refusal refund; the free look is for reading the policy.
Talk to a licensed advisor
Mon–Fri 8:00am–6:00pm ET
Sources
- THIA — Travel Insurance Bill of Rights and Responsibilities (minimum 10-day free review)
- TuGo — Visitors to Canada policy wording (10-day full refund if no travel has taken place)
- Allianz Global Assistance / CUMIS — Visitors to Canada summary (cancel within 10 days for a full refund)
- PolicyAdvisor — Refund on cancelling visitors insurance to Canada (18 June 2026; free look by insurer)
- Manulife CoverMe — Visitors to Canada policy